RSS

As White As Snow

16 May

As white as snowThe clouds rolled in around two in the afternoon, bringing with it a false dusk.  The weatherman assured us that snow was on the way, but, living in Colorado for the last fifteen years, I’ve learned never to trust a weatherman.

I arrived home from work around three o’clock.  As I stepped from my twenty-year-old Lexus junk heap, a soft white flake floated in the gentle breeze right past my face.  I followed it with my eyes as it finally reached the ground and immediately melted into the concrete.  I quickly went inside, anxious not to be caught out in the impending blizzard.

Once inside, my family ran to greet me and the rumpus of homework, making dinner, feeding the children, brushing teeth, devotions, and the long-awaited bedtime began.  The thoughts of the winter storm outside had completely left my mind.

It wasn’t until I let the dog outside right before my wife and I went to bed that I saw the alabastrine scene.  A smooth white blanket of snow had covered everything in sight, leaving my small-town thoroughfare unrecognizable.

I was struck by the fact that, even though it was just past nine at night, the street was shining brightly.  The snow was so white that even the smallest amount of light was being reflected and then shone brighter than it had before.

Standing there with the door open, the fresh scent of a soft winter breeze stimulating my nostrils, I couldn’t help but draw a parallel to Psalm 51:7: “Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.” (KJV)

I had heard that verse before, but watching the radiance of the snow covering every imperfection on the ground, the picture could not have been more perfect.  I quietly prayed and thanked God for His amazing gift of salvation that covered all of my sins and imperfections with a radiant coat of righteousness.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 16, 2013 in Devotionals

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
