RSS

A Freelance Servant

17 May

writingIt’s a question that I’ve asked many different people from many different professions: Why do you do what you do?  Granted, this question is typically asked of those in less traditional occupations, but it should be pondered upon by people from every walk of life.  Why do you do what you do?  Perhaps it’s not the easiest question to answer.  It takes a little digging into the source of our motivations to uncover the answer.  Perhaps a doctor spent eight years studying rigorously for the simple joys of helping those in need.  Or, it could be that he was motivated soley by the promise of a six-figure income.  It’s not for me to judge or to know the motivations in people’s hearts.  The only heart that I can examine is my own.  So, here it is.  I now open my heart to you and reveal the motivations for why I do what I do.

When I first began this journey of writing–both freelance and as an author–I had to do a lot of thinking about what niche I wanted to write in.  I found myriad of blog posts and articles proclaiming which niche would provide the most income and the most security as a writer (if ever a thing actually existed).  But there are some writers out there who choose to be different.  Lisa Mason wrote that you need to find what you’re passionate about, what you enjoy doing, what you are genuinely interested in, then write about that.

This concept completely turned my world around.  My passion and my heart lie with my devotion to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  I know that I have been called to serve Him, but I didn’t know how I was suppossed to do this.  Practically speaking, writing would be a great place to start.  It was at that point that I decided to use my writing abilities to help churches and ministries by providing them with writing services like emails, newsletters, web copy, etc.  How great it will be to spend my days writing for people and places who are fulfilling the call of Christ!

Doing more research, I found that Lisa Mason and myself are not alone in our desire to write for a higher cause.  One of my favorite writers of all time, Dean Koontz, has a wonderful reason to keep writing: “I’m also writing to ensure that our foundation–which focuses largely on organizations for the severely disabled, critically ill children, and dogs–will be deeply funded and able to support those organizations long after Gerda and I are gone.”

I was touched by reading that.  Dean Koontz has over four-hundred-million copies of his books in print.  Yet he doesn’t write for the money, he does it so that others can benefit.  Likewise, I don’t write for fame or fortune, but to serve those who serve God.  This is my credo.  This is my motivation.  I thank God for allowing me to do what I love and to do it for a purpose.  I pray that you too will find fulfillment within your motivation, as you answer for yourself that ever-present question: Why do you do what you do?

“Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.  Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ.”  Colossians 3:23-24 NLT

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
