RSS

Seek and You Will Find

20 May

764984_78439510I heard a story on the radio the other day about a young lady who was searching for her birth mother. She had been searching for years when, at the age of twenty-one, she decided to ask her Facebook friends for help. She was blown away at the response. Her request was re-posted thousands of times. Many people responded to the plea, claiming to be the mother of the long, lost girl. But it wasn’t until a woman came forward with proof that the search came to an end. Her proof was a picture of the young lady that her adopted mom had passed to her many years earlier. She also had knowledge of the birth of the young girl, the fact that she was delivered by cesarean, a detail that she had not released in her request for help.

The two were reunited; a wonderful end to a beautiful story. As I was listening to the drama play out on my car speakers, I couldn’t help but think of the similarities between that story and my own relationship with Christ. After living in sin for so long, I felt the tug on my heart to search for my Savior. The trouble was, I was so diluted from the world, that I had a hard time finding Him. Others came into my life and claimed to be the way, but following them only led me deeper into sin.

Not to be deterred, I continued my search and appealed to my church family for help. With amazing guidance and Biblical counsel, I finally found the Lord. He had been waiting for me all along! Still wary of false gods, He had the proof that He was indeed, my Savior. He knew me from the beginning of time, better than anyone ever had or will. He had intimate knowledge of my delivery from sin, and His hands and side bore the scars of the ransom paid for my soul. We were reunited. But unlike the mother-daughter story with a happy ending, my story was just beginning! Living a life in Christ will not always be easy, but I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that the ending will not only be happy, but glorious! Don’t give up! Call on the promises of God and He will always be faithful to follow through.

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7 NLT

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
