RSS

Run the race and finish strong!

30 May

439901_17694366Ok.  Time for a little brutal honesty here.  If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you know that I often write about issues that face Christians and how we should react to them.  I spend a lot of time researching these topics and praying over them.  I truly write from my heart.  But I so often find that my life does not always imitate my writing.  It is so easy to sit here and type out what the Bible says and how to apply it to life, but it is not so easy to live it out.

I’m not saying all of this to tell you that I’m a phony or a hypocrite.  I’m saying it because I am finding myself struggling with something right now and I wanted to share it with you.  Don’t worry.  There’s nothing scandalous here.  I’m not about to reveal some deep, dark secret that I’ve been hiding for years.  My struggle is actually with my career, but the principle behind it, I believe, can be applied to almost any situation in our lives.

So, here it goes.  I started my novel in October of 2012.  Today, I find myself just twelve pages away from finishing the first draft.  The thing is, I’ve been twelve pages away from finishing for about a month now.  I have no idea what’s holding me back.  There’s always an excuse handy when I need it.

So, why am I writing about this now?  Why not bring this up a month ago when the problem first started?  My conviction about my lack of progress actually came from a conversation with a friend of mine.  She said, “When I leave this Earth, I want to leave here empty.  I want to make sure that I gave everything I have to God, so that when I leave, there’s nothing left to give.  I’m empty.”

Her words haunted me.  I began to think about my life and everything that I tend to leave unfinished.  When I go home to see my Savior, will I be able to say that I left it all on the field?  That I have nothing left to give?

The Apostle Paul echoed the sentiment of my friend when he said, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful.”  (2 Timothy 4:7 NLT)  How horrible it would be to be running the race for a lifetime, only to die and find out that I had never reached the end?  I don’t believe that everyone who dies accomplishes everything they were supposed to do here in life.  It takes an awareness, an understanding of your purpose.  Luckily, we as Christians have a wonderful guide-book to help us find our purpose on this Earth, the Bible.

As for me, I find that I can apply this principle to most areas of my life.  My novel for example.  It’s time to lay aside all of the many excuses that present themselves on a daily basis, and commit myself to finishing strong.  Whether I’m writing a book, cleaning the house, or worshipping in my ministry in church, I want to leave it all on the field.  I want to be empty for Christ.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Run the race and finish strong!

  1. Deb Newland

    May 30, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Hey Jake, good to hear from you!! As I read your blog this phrase kept speaking to me. Our walk with Jesus is by GRACE ALONE THRU FAITH ALONE IN CHRIST ALONE!! It’s not really about me it’s about Him. We don’t have to live a life of guilt because we are not doing enough..Jesus did it all. So all our efforts are by His grace and for Him and by His strength not our own. God bless you!!!! Deb

     
    • christismyauthor

      May 30, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      Thanks Deb! You are absolutely right. There’s nothing we can do apart from God. It’s so wonderful that we can call on Him in our times of need.

       

Leave a Reply

 
