RSS

Fake it ’til you make it

04 Jun

1271144_50739548Have you ever had those days when it just seemed impossible to get into a good mood?  If you’re human like me, then there are no shortage of those days in our lives.  Between the stresses of work, money, family commitments, and ministry, sometimes life just gets overwhelming.  And on those days, sad as it is to say, I don’t always feel like a Christian.

You know the feeling: everything is pressing in around you and you feel claustrophobic, smothered, by the world.  It’s hard to see God at work in our lives on those days.  Everything is vying for our attention and God often gets pushed to the back burner.  For me, the first thing that goes on a bad day is my daily devotions.  Sad, but true.

So what’s the solution to days like that?  How do we refocus our minds and prioritize our thoughts?

Unfortunately, like so many other things in life, there is no quick fix.  I use a little phrase that I learned while working in the customer service industry: fake it ’til you make it.  We are commanded to act like Jesus acted while He was here on this Earth.  We don’t try our best and hope that everything works out.  We just do it!

“Those who say they live in God should live their lives as Jesus did.” (1 John 2:6 NLT)

I don’t know about you, but my Bible doesn’t have a little footnote that says to only follow this verse on days that I feel like it.  Living as Jesus did should be an every minute of every day kind of imitation.  John is not telling us to feel  like Christ, just to act like Him.

We can never be like Christ.  Try as we might, we can never attain to His glory and perfection.  But we are called to do it anyways, feel like it or not.  If you’re having a bad day and you don’t feel like reading your Bible that morning, do it anyways.  If you’re in a deplorable mood and you don’t feel like showing grace to the knuckle-head that just cut you off in traffic, do it anyways.

This could be one of the hardest spiritual battles you face on a regular basis, but it’s also one of the most important.  If the devil can convince you to stop imitating Christ for one day, then he can use that day to destroy your testimony and turn people away from God.  What may just seem like a bad day for us can have eternal consequences for someone else.

Lord, I pray that you will help me in the face of temptation.  strengthen me when I’m weak and help me to conquer the bad days that come my way.  Help me to embrace the mind of Christ and spend every waking moment of my life imitating Him and showing the world His love.  Amen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
