RSS

The Joy of Companionship

06 Jun

921894_75195247I recently had to take a quick trip to Nebraska.  It was a six-hour trip one-way through some of the most boring and mundane countryside in America.  Aesthetically speaking, there was nothing to look at but the road in front of me.

A journey like that doesn’t seem like it would be much fun.  But I really enjoyed it!  How could I possibly enjoy a trip that had little more to offer than the opportunity to catch a glimpse of the ‘World’s Largest Prairie Dog?’

Companionship.

You see, I wasn’t alone on my trek across the wasteland.  My beautiful wife was with me the entire way.  We didn’t talk much, preferring instead to listen to an audio book.  But it wasn’t the conversation that made it nice.  It wasn’t the way she held my hand or opened my pop and cookies for me.  It was just the fact that she was there, taking the journey right by my side.

Unfortunately, my wife is not always able to be there.  I can’t bring her along on every little errand I run or every meeting I have.  She would keel over from boredom if she sat beside me during my countless hours of writing.  And if she was with me every second of every day, she wouldn’t be able to live her own life.

“So be strong and courageous!  Do not be afraid and do not panic before them.  For the Lord your God will go before you.  He will neither fail you or abandon you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6 NLT)

I have a companion that will never leave my side.  What a blessing!  I have to be honest with you; I’m no good on my own.  I need and crave companionship.  In lonely times, I can simply cry out and He will be there to comfort me.  In times of triumph and praise, He’s the first to know what happened and share in my joy.  When I’m heading towards temptation, He nudges me back onto the path I should be taking.

I love the company of my wife, but she is still human and therefore limited as to how much she can be around.  But I have a Savior who loves me so much that He never tires of my company and never has anywhere better to go.  He will never fail me.  He will never leave my side.

Lord, thank you for being a constant companion.  Thank you for your comfort, love, and discipline.  I pray that I will always call on you when I’m happy and when I’m in need.  Please help me to live a life worthy of your companionship and love.  Amen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
