RSS

Testimonial Follow-Up: How to Weave God into Our Everyday Lives

18 Jun

779640_30359765After I spoke on Sunday, several people have come forward and asked me to be more specific about how to weave God into their lives. First of all, for those who may not have been there to hear what I was speaking about. In summary, I have gone through a few rough spots in my life and I have found, through diligence in Scriptural study, that an important aspect of getting peace in your life in to weave God into every aspect of it. I used Isaiah 40:31, “For those who wait upon the Lord will renew their strength. They will mount up with wings as eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.” The word ‘wait’ in that verse is the Hebrew word ‘qavah,’ which literally means to bind together like a rope. This does not mean to tie something up, but rather to take four or more smaller strands and weave them together into one strong rope.

This is the interesting part of that verse. Because a lot of people, like myself, have been waiting for the renewing of the strength and mounting up with wings. We were tired of growing weary and fainting on the road to wherever we were going. But, as I shared, I neglected the first part of the verse; the part where I had something to do. I realized, through God’s grace, that I needed to bring God into every aspect of my life, weave Him in. After I had begun to do that, things started changing. My lows didn’t seem so low anymore and became manageable. The scary moments in life became less terrifying when I knew that God was by my side. But the best part is the enduring peace that comes over me during good times and bad because every second of every day, God is right beside me, waiting to comfort me when I need it and overflow my cup with joy when the occasion calls for it.

So, now, down to the practical part: How do you weave God into every part of your life?

Let me just say that I have by no means arrived and I am not claiming to be the authority on this subject. All I can do is share with you what I have learned and am applying to my life, and hopefully this will be able to bless you and can apply it to your lives as well. Instead of cramming everything into one, incredibly long and drawn out post, I’ll split this up over a few days and you can pick and choose what you want to read.

The first way to weave God into your lives is to acknowledge Him in everything.

Verbalization makes it real. Take every moment possible to thank God for something, or acknowledge that He is with you. For example: if you get a coupon in the mail for a buy one get one at your favorite restaurant, don’t let your response be “Sweet! What a great day this is going to be.” (Not that anyone would speak in such a robotic and monotone way) But instead, force your first words to be, “Praise the Lord!”

By verbalizing the fact that you are praising God, it makes it real in your life. To acknowledge God’s presence in your life is to affirm that He is actually there in your own mind. It’s easy to forget about God during the hustle and bustle of life. But if you force your self to praise His name or call on it in times of trouble, you will find that He will emerge as the first thought that comes to mind when you really need Him, and when you don’t think that you do.  He is always present in our lives as believers, but if we don’t acknowledge His presence, we are doomed to forget that He is here at all.  Don’t let God slip from your mind!

Lord, I pray that we will always acknowledge your presence in our lives.  It is so comforting to know that you ‘will never leave us or abandon us.’  I call on that promise today and I pray that each person who reads this will make the conscious effort to keep you at the forefront of their minds.  Amen.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
