RSS

The Lamenting of a Fan

27 Jun

imagesIt’s no secret that I’m a New England Patriots fan, and the shocking events of this week have not been lost on me.  Sure, I’d love to bury my head in the sand and pretend that nothing happened, but this is Aaron Hernandez we’re talking about.  One of the most dynamic players in the NFL.  What’s going on here?

For those of you who don’t know, Aaron Hernandez is, was, a tight end for the New England Patriots.  He was arrested yesterday and charged with first degree murder.  This doesn’t come long after he signed a forty million dollar contract extension that doesn’t include the just over twelve million he gets from bonuses.  This man is twenty-three years old and his life is over.

I will never pretend to understand what makes the rich and famous do incredibly stupid things.  I know that if I was blessed with an exorbitant amount of money, I would be on my best behavior, wanting to preserve my money and status.  But perhaps that is too wise for some people.  Aaron Hernandez is not alone in his idiocy.  There have been many before him and I’m sure many after who will spectacularly and irrevocably fall from the graces of their fans.

But why does this happen?  Why does it seem that people who are perfectly equipped to do the right thing and make huge impacts in the world, throw it all away in a moment of lust, or anger, or greed?  Proverbs 12:15 says that fools do what is right in their own eyes.  I’m going to be writing more about this tomorrow, but the gist of it is this: people, no matter how good they are, if they are not following after God, will, in this life or the next, fall.

The broader concept here is the idea of relative truth versus absolute truth.  I’ve heard it as I’m sure you have: this is what’s true for me.  If my children used that phrase while in the process of telling a lie, I would lose it!  I lie is still a lie no matter how much you believe it to be true.  Aaron Hernandez did something horrible.  He didn’t do it because he felt justified (although he might feel justified), he didn’t do it because he got angry and carried away (although that may have occurred).  He did it because he is a sinful person who, instead of following after God, followed after the wisdom of himself and others.  That is ALWAYS a losing formula.

“The wicked are too proud to seek God.  They seem to think that God is dead.”  (Psalm 10:4 NLT)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 27, 2013 in Random Ruminations

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Lamenting of a Fan

  1. Naphtali

    June 28, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    I am not much of a football fan, but well aware of the Patriots. Sad to say athletes from all sports have decided they can be refereed on the field, courts or greens but are not responsible for their actions out in the real world.

     

Leave a Reply

 
